Should I Be Checked?

  • Family history of cancer?
  • Love red meat?
  • Over 30 years old?

Find Out

What's New?

What is The Gleason Grading System?

If your diagnostic tests reveal a malignant tumor of the prostate, your physician may use the Gleason Grading System to help describe the appearance of the cancerous prostate tissue. The biopsied prostate tissue is viewed under a microscope and then examined to see the way that the cancerous cells look compared to normal prostate cells. Click Here to Learn More


How Does The Gleason Grading System Work?

Gleason Grade 1. Cancerous cells that appear to resemble the normal prostate tissue very closely and are considered to be very well differentiated. This means that the tumor is not expected to be fast growing.

Gleason Grades 2-4: Is assigned to tumors that fall between grades 1 and 5. The higher the numbers, the faster the tumors are growing.

Gleason Grade 5: Is assigned to cells that very poorly differentiated. The cells in question will look fairly irregular and very different from the normal prostate cells.

Prostate cancer tissue is often made up of areas that have different grades so the areas that make up the largest portion of the tissue will be closely examined. The two most commonly occurring patterns of cells determine Gleason Grades.

Once the two grades have been assigned, a Gleason score can be determined by adding the two Gleason Grades together. The Gleason score that results will be a number from 2 to 10.

Scores on the higher end of the Gleason grading system (7 through 10) usually indicate a more serious prognosis. Click Here to Learn More


What Is Staging In Prostate Cancer?

Stage: Is the size and extent to which the cancer may have grown and spread.

Your doctor may perform tests that involve feeling the prostate, looking at internal parts of the body, measuring the levels of substances in the blood, and examining samples of prostate cells to detect and diagnose prostate cancer and to determine the size and extent of the spread or stage of the disease. Click Here to Learn More


Why is it important for your doctor to determine the stage of your prostate cancer?

In order to choose the best treatment for you, you must first know how the cancer is growing and exactly where it is located in the body. There are two commonly used systems to stage prostate cancer: T, N, M Staging and A, B, C, D, or Whitmore-Jewett Staging. Click Here to Learn More


What is the TNM Staging System?

The most common method of staging prostate cancer is by using a system called the TNM staging system, which stands for Tumor, Node, Metastases. It is an international system that was developed by The American Joint Committee on Cancer.

T refers to the size of the primary tumor

N describes the extent of regional lymph node involvement

M refers to the presence or absence of metastases

In addition, the equivalent stages in the A, B, C, D, or Whitmore-Jewett staging system can be seen in the table, click here.